Benson Cup report:St. Farnan's v Geevagh
Final score: St. Farnan's  0-12
Geevagh 1-17
Venue:St. Farnan's  Park
Sunday,  July 2nd
This game was  played in fine conditions  with the breeze  favouring  Geevagh in the first  half. It was Geevagh who were  first off the mark with a well taken goal by Shane Tighe. John Quinn got the first point for St. Farnan's  followed  by a second from Finnian Cawley. Jodie  O'Reilly  got his first point from a free. St. Farnan's  had at least two goal chances in this early period but failed to finish. Geevagh,  however got three unanswered  points to lead 1-4 to 0-2. Martin Mulligan pointed from a free. Geevagh's Kevin Henry got three fine points before the break to help his side to a seven point advantage  at half time, 1-9 to 0-5.
Aided by the breeze  in the second half St. Farnan's  got the first two points. The sides traded points but St. Farnan's could not make up the deficit. Geevagh lost Dominic Kearns to a black card early  in the second half. St. Farnan's  introduced  Stephen  Tempany,  Stephen Mulligan  and Fergal Ryan in the second half. The side, however was dogged by injuries to Mattie  Lang, Contact Hallinan, Finnian Cawley  and Conor Gordon. 
In the end Geevagh deserved victory  although  St. Farnan's  could have reduced the margin considerably. Geevagh progress to the Benson Cup Final. St. Farnan's  will learn from this game as they will face Geevagh in both league  and championship  in the near future. 
St. Farnan's : Sean Healy,  Declan Taylor,  Eamonn Kilgannon,  Caolan Gillen,  John Quinn(0-1), Finnian Cawley(0-3(1f), Padraig Culkin(0-1), Martin Mulligan(0-5(1f), Cormac Hallinan,  Kevin Mc Gee,  Mattie  Lang(0-1), Conor Gordon,  Niall Crean(0-1), Adrian  Mc Munn,  Mark Devaney. Subs used: Fergal Ryan,  Stephen  Mulligan,  Stephen  Tempany. 
Geevagh team: Darren Kearns, Daniel  Mc Goldrick,  George  Wall,  Barry Sweeney,  Daniel Smith,  David O'Reilly,  Shane Tighe (1-1), Kevin Henry(0-4), Enda Mc Manus,  Daniel  Conlon(0-2),Thomas O'Reilly (0-2), Colm Mc Manus(0-1), Jodie O'Reilly (0-6(3f), Conor Lavin. 

Comments and Discussion on this article:                          (+ Write a Comment)

Write comments about this article
Your Name:*