Ballymote GAA Club notes

Congratulations to Ballymote/Bunninadden U 14 team and management who are Division 1 winners after beating St Marys last Friday in Markiecicz Pk.  This was a trilling game of  football,  Ballymote/Bunninadden spent most periods of the game  in the leading position.  However mid way in second half St Marys took the lead but this did not last very long after super-sub Barry Clavin found the back of the net and Ballymote/Bunninadden went on to win our first piece of silverware this year by 4 points.  Final score B/B 3-14 St Marys 2-13. Team Shane Rafferty, Kian Reynolds (Michael Lavin 2-2), Mathew Reynolds, Gareth Gallagher, Jim Sweeney, Kyle Gormely, Patrick McDonagh, Oisin Moffatt, Ronan Keenan capt 0-1, Finn Underwood (Barry Clavin 1-0), Shane Murray 0-1, Tristan Regan 0-1, Oisin Brennan 0-2, Sonny Muldoon, Luke Marren 0-7.  Subs Emmet Finan, Gareth Scanlon, Cormac Finn, Conor Mitchell, Mathew Hunt, Mark Scanlon, Shaun Hough, Darragh Phillips.  Management Pat Moffatt, Matty Regan, Dermot Gormely, Stephen Murray. 

Junior team have maintained top spot of Division 3 after beating Cloonacool in Cloonacool last Saturday and have qualified for league final with 3 games remaining.  Final score Cloonacool 1-8 Ballymote 1-16.  Next game is against Shamrock Gaels in Corran Pk 15thJuly at 7.30pm.  Well done to players and management.

U 16 were beaten by Coolera/Strandhill last Monday in Div 1 Shield competition.

U 12/11 play St Molaise Gaels in Ballymote next Tuesday at 7pm.

U 10/8 welcomed Tourlestrane last Wednesday and enjoyed a great game of football.

An informal gathering of the 1960 Ballymote minor team will take place in Doddys Lounge 14th July at 8.15pm.  This team won the minor championships in this year.  Squad members are Denis Kennedy, Jim Sreenan, Justin Henry RIP, Thomas Keenan, Paddy Cunney, Stephen Benton, Tommy McCann, Brendan Coleman, Brendan Benton RIP, Shane Gilhawely, Joe McGovern, Neal Farry, Paddy Prior, Sean Davey, Marcus Henry, Pat Rodgers, Liam Keirins, Peader Brennan, Rapheal Cassidy, Jim Donoghue, Hubert McDermott, Francis Donoghue,  Vincent Hever, Seamus Fahey, John Cassidy and David Martin.  Coach Alfie Banks and John Kivelan RIP, Joe O Hara RIP, and Eugene Gilhawely RIP.  There is a small bit unfinished business involving this squad.  This event is open to all members and supporters of the club

Comments and Discussion on this article:                          (+ Write a Comment)

Write comments about this article
Your Name:*