Summerhill win Mayo Junior Hurling Championship

Back 25/01/2019 @ 14:23 | hurlingnews | Summerhill win Mayo Junior Hurling Championship

Mayo Junior Hurling Championship Shield Final


Summerhill College, Sligo 4-7

Ballyhaunis Community School 1-3


Summerhill College claimed the Mayo Junior Hurling Shield for the first time at the Connacht GAA Centre in Bekan on Tuesday, thanks to a strong second half showing against a skilful Ballyhaunis Community School.

There was little to separate the sides in the opening period, with two opportunistic goals from alert corner-forward Jamie Walsh, and some strong defensive performances narrowly edging the Sligo school into a one-point, 2-1 to 1-3 half-time lead in a low-scoring affair.

But with the considerable wind advantage blowing at their backs in the second half, Summerhill took full control to hit 2-6 without reply, as their defence remained resolute.

Goalkeeper Mark McDaniel, full-back Peter Meehan and corner-back Max Burns-Flynn all had to make last-ditch blocks to deny certain goals as Ballyhaunis impressed in the first period.

Cormac Heneghan led the charge for Summerhill at the other end with a strong first half performance.

After the break midfielders Canice Mulligan and Paul O’Brien, defenders Thomas Davis and Adam Connolly, centre-forward Robert O’Kelly-Lynch and substitute Donnchadh O’Brien all impressed as Summerhill dominated.

And captain Oileann Mulligan was presented with the trophy after the game after a faultless display at centre-back.

The Summerhill team was managed by teachers Damian Keenan and Eoin Doherty, and coached by Sligo Hurling GPO Darragh Cox.

It’s the second year in a row that Summerhill have claimed a hurling title in the annual Mayo competitions, with the school’s senior team managed by Shane Reynolds and Benny Kenny winning the Senior Shield last year.

 Summerhill: Mark McDaniel; Shane Harte, Peter Meehan, Max Burns-Flynn; Adam Connolly, Oileann Mulligan (captain 0-1), Thomas Davis; Paul O’Brien (0-1), Canice Mulligan (1-0); Cormac Heneghan (0-1), Robert O’Kelly-Lynch (1-1), Nathan McArdle (0-3, 2f); Corey O’Dowd, Cian Oates, Jamie Walsh (2-0).

Subs used: Donnchadh O’Brien, Michael Carroll, John Hansbury, Joe Campbell, Dylan McGee.