Sligo senior football squad for National League announced

Back 17/01/2023 @ 19:41 | mainnews | Sligo senior football squad for National League announced

Sligo Senior football manager Tony McEntee and his backroom team have confirmed the squad to start this season’s Allianz Football League campaign which throws in on Sunday week next, January 29 against Laois at Markievicz Park.

Niall Murphy from Coolera Strandhill will captain Sligo this year with Castleconnor’ s Sean Carrabine and Calry St Joseph’s Darragh Cummins as vice captains.

The 39-man squad features 14 new additions from last year. These include six members of last summer’s Connacht championship winning U20 squad – Jack Lavin (Ballymote), Joe Keaney (St Molaise Gaels), Oisín Flynn (Castleconnor), Marc Connolly McGowan (St John’s), Eoghan Smith (Drumcliffe Rosses Point) and Lee Deignan (Shamrock Gaels) – and a number of players returning to the squad after a period away including Gerard O’Kelly Lynch and Luke Nicholson of St Marys, Drumcliffe Rosses Point’s Cian Lally and Brian Cox from Calry St Joseph’s.

The full squad is;

Sean Carrabine (v.c.), Castleconnor
Sean Carroll, Shamrock Gaels
Finnian Cawley, St Farnan's
Keelan Cawley, Coolera Strandhill
Donal Conlon, Geevagh
Ray Connolly, Coolaney Mullinabreena
Marc Connolly McGowan, St. Johns
Brian Cox, Calry St Joseph’s
Darragh Cummins (v.c.), Calry St Joseph’s
Lee Deignan, Shamrock Gaels
Aidan Devaney, Calry St Joseph’s
Oisin Flynn, Castleconnor
Kenny Gavigan, Tourlestrane
Mikey Gordon, Easkey
Barry Gorman, Coolaney Mullinabreena
Conor Griffin, Calry St Joseph’s
Joe Keaney, St. Molaise Gaels
Paul Kilcoyne, St. Marys
Peter Laffey, Coolera Strandhill
Cian Lally, Drumcliffe Rosses Point
Jack Lavin, Ballymote
Daniel Lyons, Shamrock Gaels
Evan Lyons, Shamrock Gaels
Eddie McGuinness, Tubbercurry
Paul McNamara, St. Johns
Nathan Mullen, Coolaney Mullinabreena
Niall Murphy (c), Coolera Strandhill
Luke Nicholson, St. Marys
Paddy O'Connor, St. Farnans
Gerard O'Kelly Lynch, St. Marys
David Philips, St. Marys
David Quinn, Shamrock Gaels
Alan Reilly, Curry
Nathan Rooney, St. Marys
Eoghan Smith, Drumcliffe Rosses Point
Pat Spillane, St. Jude’s (Dublin)
Jack Teap, St. Marys
Luke Towey, St. Molaise Gaels
Mark Walsh, Owenmore Gaels

Sligo’s first game against Laois throws in at 2.00 in Markievicz Park on Sunday January 29 and it will then play six games over the following eight weeks as follows

·         Away to Wicklow in Aughrim at 2.00 on Sunday 5 February

·         At home in Markievicz Park vs. Waterford at 1.00 on Sunday 19 February

·         Away to London at Ruislip at 1.00 on Sunday 26 February

·         At home, in Markievicz Park vs. Wexford at 2.00 on Sunday 12 March

·         Away to Carlow in Carlow at 5.00 on Saturday 18 March

·         Away to Leitrim in Carrick on Shannon at 1.00 on Sunday 26 March.

Sligo’s opening game in the Connacht Senior Football championship is in London against London at 3.00 on Saturday 8 April.