U17 FC Rd4 - Sligo 2-15 v Roscommon 4-7

Back 22/06/2019 @ 14:55 | mainnews | U17 FC Rd4 - Sligo 2-15 v Roscommon 4-7

Though assured of a place in the Connacht championship semi final the Sligo lads showed excellent spirit, patience and ability to recover from a horrendous start to run out comfortable winners despite a late late scare.

This win brought Mayo back into the semi final, put Galway in the final and finished Roscommons interest in the competition.

After Sligo got an early settling score from an Eoghan Smith free, Roscommon reeled off 2-2 without reply. Roscommon were finding joy running at the Sligo centre and despite Sligo steading the ship and getting back into the game with points from Duffy, Smith, Mulligan and Gorman another goal was scored in a crowded goalmouth. In fairness to the Sligo lads they responded with a point but at halftime we trailed 0-8 v 3-4.

Sligo got the first 3 points of the half and then in the 11th minute Gavin Duffy powered an effort from 13m to the roof of the net. Roscommon responded and equalised but Sligo continued to find it easier to score points and were now more imposing in the middle third. In the 24th minute a mishit free by Smith was field by Heaney who attracted 3 defenders and laid off to Duffy who crashed to the Roscommon net off the underside of the crossbar. Sligo had a number of goal chances after but failed to capitalise on them. In the final minute of injury time Jack Teape had his attempted clearance blocked and finished to the net as Roscommon looked to score a goal that would have sent them through to the Connacht final with Sligo facing Galway in a semi final but the game finished with Oisín Hynes coming out of a scramble with the ball.

Sligo face Mayo in the semifinal on Wednesday June 26 at 7pm.

Team: Jack Teape Keith Feely Mark Connolly Mc Gowan  Oisin Hynes(0-1)  Canice Mulligan(0-1) Ciaran McKeon Connor Finn Joseph Keaney Jack Lavin Conor Matthews Eoghan Smith (0-5, 2f) Oran McDonagh Lee Deignan(0-1) Oisin Gorman(0-2) Gavin Duffy (2-3)
Subs: Dylan WalshJack Davitt(0-2) Shane Muldowney Jim Davis, Jack Lundy Tom Gavin Tola Caraway Lee Cummins Oisin Flynn Brian Marren Oran Mc Donagh Fionn Connolly Roland Scanlon Conor Stinchon Luke Casserly Jack Doyle Daire O'Boyle Aaron Davey Dara Foy Rowan Elliot