Feb 29th Deadline for Regrading and Top 12 lists
Clubs are reminded that Saturday February 29th is the Final day for submission of the following to the CCC:

1. Regrading (Championship):
As per County bye law, applications for players who wish to have their championship status regraded must be received by the last day of February. As in previous years a maximum of 5 per club will be granted. Please forward prior to the deadline as late submissions cannot be accepted.

2. Top 12 lists who cannot play with club 2nd team in Leagues:
Please forward a list of your Top 12 players who will be ineligible to participate with your club's 2nd team in Warm Up Competitions (where applicable) and Football leagues for 2020. The CCC will review and approve if deemed satisfactory. All clubs entering second teams should return these lists by the end of February (February 29th).

Last updated 25/02/2020 @ 10:30

Applications for Gaeltacht Grants 2020

Applications are now invited for the Sligo GAA Gaeltacht Grants. Applicants must be in 1st, 2nd, TY & 5th  Year and be a member of a GAA club in order to apply.

All courses must be booked through Colaiste na bhFiann see http://www.cnb.ie for more details.

The deadline for applications is Friday March 6th.

Download the application form here

Last updated 24/02/2020 @ 11:02

NHL: Sligo 2-17 v Leitrim 1-15

Sligo remained unbeaten in the hurling league and now top the group with Warwickshire who have played a game more. They made this a bit harder and uncomfortable than their first half play suggested when holding off a resurgent Leitrim team who depended on Karl McDermott for their scores. If he was at the end of the two goal chance near the end of the game the result may have been different.

Sligo got off to a blistering start with points from Finnian Cawley and Ruairí Brennan and a Joe McHugh goal from a tight angle in the first 3 minutes. By the 20th minute, McHugh, Kevin O'Kennedy, Gerard O'Kelly Lynch had added points from play and in the 24th minute Keith Raymond drifted into the full forward line, won a free driven along the sideline, turned his man and drove towards goal shooting high into the Leitrim netto lead 2-6 v 0-4. However Leitrim got back into the game with a McDermott penalty driven low into the Town goal that at the halftime break the scores stood at 2-11 v 1-8

McHugh and McDermott traded pointed frees after the break and there was a period of no score from Sligo in an eleven minute spell with. Between the 17th and 29th minute McDermott scored 5 points from play and frees to leave 3 behind the sides. Ben Murray should have scored a goal for Leitrim when in one on one with Mark Burke but drove it wide whilst Moreton  came in from the stand side and a combination of hooks and blocks saw his effort cleared. In added time a straight red card was shown to Leitrim for a wild pull on Gavin Connolly who had a fair welt across his shins. This lead to a lengthy delay, which meant insted of 3 minutes of additional time there was 7,and in this time O'Kelly Lynch and Raymond struck insurance scores and there was time for substitute Dónal Hanley to see red also. 

Sligo travel to Cavan next Sunday.

Sligo : Mark Burke, James Weir, Niall Feehily, Gavin Connolly, Kevin Banks, Rory McHugh, Finnian Cawley (0-2), Gerard O'Kelly Lynch (0-4), Kevin O'Kennedy(0-1), Paul O'Grady, Keith Raymond (1-5, 0-2f), Cathal Jordan Joe McHugh(1-4, 2f), Tony O'Kelly Lynch, Ruairí Brennan (0-1). Subs Liam Reidy for Jordan(ht), Kevin Gilmartin for O'Kennedy (42m), Kieran Prior for Brennan (48min), Arthur Wall for Joe McHugh(70min), Dónal Hanley for Connolly (75min)

Last updated 24/02/2020 @ 08:12

NFL D4 Sligo 0-16 v Waterford 2-12

It was major disappointment again in Markievicz Park today, 6 days after Aughrim. A late change on Friday night meant we also had another reminder of that visit as the same referee was appointed for the fixture.

The pitch was in excellent condition with a strong cross field breeze , at times veering into the dressing rooms corner. As the ball was thrown in and Sligo playing into the dressing room end, a downpour of hail and sleet started and continued for 15 minutes. Barry Gorman started in the place of Nathan Mullen who missed out due to the bereavement of his grandmother for whom a minutes silence took place beforehand. Barry had the first point of the game and this was followed by a Jason Curry free with Red Óg Murphy responding in the 14th minute. Liam Gaughan extended the lead from a free and the roving Stephen Curry replied from play. In the space of the next two minutes Gerard O'Kelly Lynch was back carded and 2 minutes later was followed to the bin by the Waterford full forward Corcoran who would turn out to be the game winner. Sligo hit a good spell though Red Óg was unlucky with a goal effort, he pointed a mark, followed by a Seán Carrabine and Paul Kilcoyne points from play to lead 5 v 3 after 23 minutes. 

Cian Lally and a Barry Gorman mark extended the lead but two Stephen Gleeson points for the visitors but as the half came to an end Liam Gaughan from play and Paddy O'Connor free saw Sligo lead 0-9 v 0-6. 

The second half saw continued good attacks, however in the first nine minutes of the half the team struck 4 wides on the trot. Liam Gaughan scored a free followed by another Gorman score to extend the lead out to 4 points when driving run out of defence by Dylan Guiry ended with a pass to the onrushing Seanie O'Donovan from centre back to drive to the net. Sligo responded well though with points from a Gaughan free and a Pat Hughes pile driver that had left the keeper rooted to the spot. Two Waterford frees reduced the deficit but a Cian Breheny effort in the 25th minutes moved the lead out to two. 

In the 28th minute Guiry made another strong run and put the ball low into the Sligo net. The Sligo response was again as it should be with an equaliser within a minute from Darragh Cummins. Curry scored a free to put Waterford in front in the 33rd minute responded to by another Gaughan free. Sligo had a chance at the start of injury time of 4 minutes to go up by one but pulled the effort wide. Waterford who had an extra man for the last 16 minutes after John Francis Carr got two yellows made the extra man count with two points from Corcoran to win by 2. 

Next weekend Sligo travel to Wexford 

Sligo - A Devaney, JF Carr, E McGuinness, M Gordon; B.Gorman (0-3, 2mark), P McNamara, S Carrabine (0-1); P O’Connor (0-1, 1f), P Kilcoyne(0-1) G O’Kelly Lynch, N Ewing, K.Cawley,  L Gaughan (0-5, 4f), C Lally (0-1), Red Óg Murphy (0-1, 1mark). Subs: D.Cumins (0-1) for Ewing, P Hughes (0-1) for Lally, E.McHugh for Gordon, C.Breheny (0-1) for Cawley, D Quinn for Kilcoyne

Last updated 22/02/2020 @ 21:55

Club Sligo Launch Sat 22nd Feb
All supporters are invited to attend the launch of Club Sligo 2020 on Saturday at 4.30pm in the Sligo Park Hotel. Meet the Sligo Senior Football and Hurling squads and hear all about our Club Sligo Fundraiser. Why not join us after the Allianz Football League match v Waterford in Markieivicz Park.

Last updated 20/02/2020 @ 09:30

New Referees needed to ensure games programme goes to schedule
As Clubs are aware by now the County is seriously short of referees and as a result of this there will be consequences which will have a major impact on all fixtures for 2020.
Sligo County Board are asking Clubs again to nominate at least two members from your club with names submitted to County Secretary or Referee Administrator by this Friday February 21st.

The course for new referees has three modules, with the final module taking place in Croke Park on April 4th, where the certificates will be presented by GAA President John Horan.

Last updated 19/02/2020 @ 10:56