Goals are the difference as Gaels confirm semi final slot

Back 21/09/2022 @ 00:28 | mainnews | Goals are the difference as Gaels confirm semi final slot

Shamrock Gaels 4-13 Calry/ St Joseph’s 0-14

Four goals separated the sides in this winner takes all clash as Shamrock Gaels qualify for the semi-final of the Homeland Sligo senior football championship.

A flurry of first half goals from Dylan Willis (2), Karl McKenna and Shane Deignan split the sides, as Calry/ St Joseph’s retain senior status for 2023.

However, it was David Cummins’ side that started the better of the two, going 0-4 to 0-1 up after five minutes.

Darragh Cummins hit two, as Ciaran Stenson and Daire O’Boyle added points from the wing forward positions.

The first goal chance of the game came minutes later, with Conor Griffin sauntering through the Shamrock Gaels defnce, only to have captain Paul Higgins save his side when his block deflected to the upright and out for a ’45.

This wakeup call sprung life into Shamrock Gaels and they went hell for leather kicking 2-4 in just five minutes.

Shane Deignan got the first goal, rounding his marker before burying a low shot to the bottom corner – his fifth goal of this year’s championship.

Both Shane and brother, Lee, added points before the second goal came on nine minutes. Lee Deignan tore down the right wing, and in lining up a shot on goal, dummied his shot into a short kick pass across goal to Dylan Willis, whi doesn’t miss from inside the box.

Three minutes later, and Willis struck again. A long ball in from Liam O’Connell proved difficult for Devaney, and the ball broke in Willis’ favour who got a touch to make it three goals for the Gaels – 3-5 to 0-5 inside twelve minutes.


Darragh Cummins replied with a score for Calry as did James McDonagh, before trouble would come their way once more. Brian Lynch broke down a Daniel Lyons kickout, and the scramble was won by Dillon McDermott who passed forward to Shane Deignan. He attacked goal from the left before passing across to the oncoming McKenna who flicked the ball over the goalkeeper and into the net.

The half time score read 4-7 to 0-6 in favour of the maroon and white, and a mountain to climb for their North Sligo counterparts.

Calry did outscore Gaels in the second half, but failed to convert any hint of a goal chance to spark a true comeback. Brian Callaghan started the second half scoring, showcasing his wicked pace to escape the Shamrock Gaels cover and kick his first of two on the day.

Cummins and O’Boyle struck again, as David Quinn added three second half points for the opposition in an exhibition of point taking.

Johnny Quinn had been introduced in the first half for the injured Dylan Willis, and scored either side of half time, claiming a well taken mark in the second half before slotting over with his left foot.

Eoghan Donaghty also kicked two from the bench, with his first being a beautiful curling effort from his right foot.

With the game well and truly over, Lee Deignan rounded off the scoring for Shamrock Gaels in the closing minutes with a well taken ’45.

Eleven points split the teams at the final whistle, with those four goals in fourteen minutes being the difference on the day. With their wide count in double figures and a missed goal chance early on, Calry/ St Joseph’s will ponder the outcome had it not been for Paul Higgins’ early block. Regardless, they avoid a relegation semi-final and see the victors progress to a semi-final meeting with Tourlestrane.

Shamrock Gaels scorers:

Dylan Willis (2-0), Shane Deignan (1-4), David Quinn (0-5, 0-4f), Karl McKenna (1-0), Lee Deignan, Johnny Quinn (0-2, 0-1f each)

Shamrock Gaels team:

Daniel Lyons; Karl McKenna, Evan Lyons, Ben Tuohy; Ciaran O’Connor, Paul Higgins (C), Shane Barry; Dillon McDermott, David Quinn; Lee Deignan, Liam O’Connell, Conor Sheridan; Shane Deignan, Dylan Willis, Darragh Hailstones.

Subs used:

James Carroll, Johnny Quinn, Conor McMorrow, Sean Carroll.

Calry/ St Joseph’s scorers:

Daire O’Boyle (0-4, 0-1f), Darragh Cummins (0-3), Brian Callaghan, Eoghan Donaghty (0-2 each), Aidan Devaney (0-1 ’45), Ciaran Stenson, James McDonagh (0-1 each).

Calry/ St Joseph’s team:

Aidan Devaney; Conor Gray, Conor McGovern, Jonathan McGoldrick; Brian Callaghan, Shaun Cawley, Brian Shannon; Adrian Cummins, Brian Cox; Ciaran Stenson, Darragh Cummins (C), Daire O’Boyle; Ciaran Cummins, Conor Griffin, Brian Lynch. 

Subs used:

James McDonagh, Eoghan Donaghty, Cormac Coyne, Liam Donaghue.


Barry Judge.